Oklahoma’s low-wage workforce is at risk of being squeezed by rising rents.
It’s happening despite state and federal guidelines that require employers to keep minimum wage rates low and keep their workers’ compensation costs low.
The new guidelines from the Oklahoma Labor Department say businesses that hire people on a temporary or part-time basis are required to pay a wage rate that’s at least 30 percent of the federal minimum wage.
Oklahoma has one of the lowest minimum wage hikes in the country.
So far this year, the minimum wage has increased by 4.9 percent, and it is expected to rise by 6.5 percent next year.
This means that workers on a part- time basis in Oklahoma must earn at least $11.75 an hour in order to make ends meet.
Oklahoma’s new minimum wage law has been criticized by some groups and business owners, but the Oklahoma Department of Labor says that the law is necessary for business to survive and to provide a livable wage to employees.
It is important for businesses to have a wage that allows them to survive, says Labor Secretary David Dorman.
“It makes sense for them to pay someone who is working part time to keep the business going, but they need to pay them at least enough to keep their business going.”
That means that if a business has a minimum wage rate of $10 an hour and is hiring part-timers to fill a vacancy, it needs to pay at least 25 percent of that rate.
Oklahoma employers have to follow these guidelines.
It means that businesses must pay a minimum of $15 an hour to employees on a permanent basis, or $15 per hour if they’re hiring part time workers.
Oklahoma also has an exemption for small businesses that are paying minimum wage workers.
It says small businesses with at least 500 employees can also hire part-timer workers on temporary or temporary part-year contracts.
“In the case of temporary or full-time employees, they may be paid a wage of at least 20 percent of their regular hourly rate,” Dorman says.
“The exemption applies to the full-timing portion of a temporary employee.
Part-timings must be paid at least the full minimum wage.”
The exemption also applies to businesses that employ fewer than 50 workers.
Businesses that employ more than 50 people but have fewer than 500 employees are required, however, to pay their workers at least a minimum hourly wage of $12.25.
But it’s not all good news.
Some businesses are paying employees less than the minimum.
“If a business is paying a higher wage to its full-timer employees than it is to its part-times employees, that’s not good for the business, because that’s going to lead to lower revenues,” Dror says.
Some of the businesses that rely on temporary workers, like those who hire them as part of their business or to supplement part- and full- time workers, may have to increase the wage.
But there are exceptions.
For example, the exemption for a small business can apply to all of its employees.
But in those cases, a business can only charge its employees the minimum rate if it is not in violation of the state’s minimum wage laws.
The exemption can also be used if a part of the business is doing work that requires a person to be available 24 hours a day.
“Businesses are generally allowed to pay employees what is reasonable to keep them working.
But if the business finds that it’s in violation, it can ask a labor board to determine if the minimum wages are reasonable,” Dorman says.
It can also request a wage review from the Labor Department if there’s a dispute between the minimum and the hourly rate.
The department says that if the company is in violation by a wage or a percentage, it will file an application to the Labor Board to make an adjustment to the rate.
If a labor court determines that the company’s minimum rate is unreasonable, it must also adjust the hourly or other rate to the state minimum wage and, if necessary, impose an overtime requirement.
Oklahoma businesses that have experienced a wage increase in the past five years are not subject to an overtime mandate, but it’s still up to the court to determine what level of overtime is required.
It does have a policy that says if an employee is working at a higher rate than the state requires, it is subject to a wage penalty.
“Any employee who is subject under the wage penalty provisions of the Oklahoma labor code to the wage rate increase for any work done under the employee’s employment contract may be subject to that wage penalty,” Droman says, adding that the Labor Commissioner can impose penalties that can be as high as $10,000.
For a full list of wage requirements, see the Oklahoma Wage Commission’s Wage Disclosure Summary.
The Oklahoma Wage Division is currently reviewing a complaint from a former Oklahoma State University student who was hired to work as a temporary part time worker at a restaurant in Oklahoma